Look to the SKY….and the BBC

Times are hard in Japan at the moment.  Fortunately I am placed in an area that hasn’t been affected by Friday’s 8.9 magnitude Earthquake or the tsunami and for the moment we don’t appear to be in danger of nuclear contamination.  To not know about what has happened in Japan means you are either purposely ignoring it or you are really a statue masquerading as a human, if the latter is true you need to stop.  To be honest I’m not even sure how you got into a position where you could be mistaken for a human!!

I think it is important to know that what has happened in Sendai, Fukushima, Iwate and everywhere else that was hit hard truly is a terrible thing and people are doing their best to aid however they can.  However you all know this, so I am not going to plaster this blog with pictures or stories about what is going on, instead here are a few links, though these you can donate whatever you can to help the relief work going on in Japan at the moment.

http://www.google.com/crisisresponse/japanquake2011.html

http://american.redcross.org/site/PageServer?pagename=ntld_main

http://tinyurl.com/4sp8mba

www.globalgiving.org/projects/japan-earthquake-tsunami-relief/

iTunes: https://buy.itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZFinance.woa/wa/buyCharityGiftWizard

Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/4rcy5o3

So if you can help at all please do.  And keep fingers crossed that the situation at the nuclear plant in Fukushima gets no worse.

An interesting fact:  The Earthquake on Friday moved Japan (every bit of it) 8 feet to the east and has shifted the earths axis by about 4 inches!!  At least that’s what I have heard.  Maybe I should have called this “Scary Fact”.

Aaaaaaaanyway.  During this whole Earthquake/tsunami/nuclear worry ordeal I have had a pretty boring week.  But for your reading pleasure I have included last week’s entry as yet unseen by all o’ yalls.  If I find I have something of interest/humour to write then write it I shall!!  You can follow my weight loss adventure here.

Last week’s entry:

The Sickness has finally got me!!

Yo yo, late again with the auld blog so I am….Well I suppose only about 5 of you are actually keeping track so to you I apologise!!

The title says it all, I have finally been struck down with a cold!!  I managed to avoid the flu when it was dropping people like unwanted change down a drain but my defences have been breached and I was almost defeated.  I think it was a weaker bunch of germy attackers so I am ok!!

I don't know but I've been told...

In other news yesterday was the Graduation Ceremony for the 3rd years at Itoigawa Junior High school.  Twas a nice day but there was lots of crying children and teachers!!  Of course at first there was the usual speeches after which the 1st and 2nd years gave the 3rd years a little thank you song.  Eyes were still dry at this point but when the graduating 3rd years got up to sing the sniffing and eye-wiping began in earnest!!  One by one the 3rd years started breaking the “tear seal” especially when they gave various thank you messages within the song they were singing.   Genius girl (a particularly talented student who can play saxophone and Piano like a pro!!) was playing some lovely music on the piano and various students gave messages of thanks, some while trying to hold back tears and some failing to do so.  But it was after this that the crying went to the next level.

The third year home room teachers lined up in front of the students and 2 representatives from each class came to the front and said all sorts of nice things about their year with them.  I think only one student didn’t cry during this.  The teachers were getting teary the students were sniffing the music was just bloody lovely and it was all I could do to not let the seal break!!  I had to go to a building site and leer at some women after just to reaffirm my masculinity.

All 180 graduating students!!

Just hanging!!

They asked me to do this pose. I'm not sure why but I think we look cool so there!!

So that was nice!!

Blast from the past!!

Ever since I got the Playstation 3 I have mostly been playing a game for the original Playstation called Vagrant Story.

Set in Medieval times, the game’s story revolves around Riskbreaker Ashley Riot, who is a member of the Valendia Knights of the Peace (VKP).

The manor of Duke Bardorba of Valendia Kingdom had been seized by a cult of religious zealots lead by Sydney Losstarot, while the Duke was away. And Ashley is sent in by the VKP to break the cultists’ hold on the manor. Throughout the game, players will find out more about Ashley Riot and his mysterious past, and will be introduced to many other secondary figures who play a significant role in the game, such as Romeo Guildenstern, the leader of the “Crimson Blades,” Callo Merlose, a VKP Information Analysis, and John Hardin, who is a prominent member of the Mullenkamp Cult.

Courtesy of Ign.com

I got the game when it first came out and never got around to completing it.  It was one of the last titles made for the original Playstation and therefore pushed it technically as fas as it could go.  So when it became available on the Playstation network I was a very pleased lad indeed.

One thing I really liked about the game was the battle and weapon system.  With a weapon equipped you simply press the circle button and a grid appears showing the range of your weapon and if something is in range you can attack it.  But where you attack is important as is what you attack with.  For example if you attack their weapon arm enough their attack strength will go down, if you go for the head they will not be able to cast spells etc.  Every enemy in the game is put into a class such as Human, Dragon, Undead etc.  They are also different affinities such as Fire, Earth, Wind etc and weapon types like Blunt, Edged and Piercing.  You have to take all of these into account when chosing what weapon to attack your enemy.

I’m sure I have made it sound boring but it is really good!!!

The music and sound in this game are both great.

So if you have the chance give this game a looksee!!

In other news, I have aquired some new shoes recently.  They are not as comfortable as my old ones but they are a little warmer!!

Ever so slightly heavier than my old shoes!!

The children at the kindergarden in which this photograph was taken also like to jump off the slide onto me while shouting “MONKEY!!”

About gazztastic

This blog is another attempt at self motivation to do these four things in a year: (In order of supposed difficulty) 1). Achieve at a 75% or higher in the JLTP 二級 test. 2). Write and record a song every two months 3). Learn all the modes in guitar, learn to play at least 3 classical pieces and learn to sweep pick. 4).......lose 10 kilos Should be doable if I can make myself get up and do them!!!!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

